Inspirit Source
Astrology in Society

Astrological Ages: Past, Present, & Future

Astrological energy is constantly at work all around us, and not just in the form of people living out their individual signs. Entire school graduating classes, generations, and world nations have their own specific astrological DNA—subconsciously shaping how the people within these groups approach and change the world around them. This leads us to the concept of Astrological Ages.

An Astrological Age is when one sign’s energy provides the theme for an entire slice of human history.

Astrological Ages tend to last for about 2000 years. But since this is such a vast time frame, the influences of the oncoming age can be felt for hundreds of years before the ~official Age-switch occurs. Because really, what’s a hundred years when we’re talking thousands?

The sign of the Age is dictated by an astronomical phenomenon called the precession of equinoxes, in which the wobble of Earth spinning on its axis slowly shifts the position of our equator in relation to the rest of the solar system. Complicated? Totally. But that’s as simple an explanation as I can fit into a blog post. Anyway…

Most of us have heard of the “dawning of the Age of Aquarius,” but how about the Ages of Cancer, Gemini, or Aries? You might be surprised to know that, as a human race, we’ve already lived through them!

We’ve yet to experience the ages of Capricorn, Sagittarius, Scorpio, Libra, and Virgo—and who knows if humanity will even make its way around the entire zodiacal wheel? But for now, let’s take a look back at how astrology has shaped where we’ve been…

The Age of Leo

approx. 10000 to 8000 B.C.

With many thanks to Leo’s ruling “planet”—the Sun—the Ice Age had finally come to a close and Earth was now warm and habitable. To survive in this new landscape, the nomadic hunter-gatherers of this time exercised ultimate creativity in creating stone tools, hunting weapons, clothing, and even the first art in the form of cave paintings. Leo, the zodiac’s creative child, makes it the perfect sign to represent human civilization in its inspired & inventive early days.

The Age of Cancer

approx. 8000 to 6000 B.C.

Farming and the domestication of animals now allowed people to establish permanent villages—a welcome change for home & comfort-loving Cancer. No more wandering from place-to-place in search of food! Along with the newfound fertility of the land, cultures of this time often worshipped Cancer’s ruler—the Moon—as its changing phases dictated their planting schedule. Women were also highly respected during this time, since their own fertile cycles were in sync with the Moon. During the Age of Cancer, Mother Nature was queen.

The Age of Gemini

approx. 6000 to 4000 B.C.

Gemini is the zodiac’s curious communicator, and with this Age came the birth of modern language and written record. People could now more easily express themselves and leave a documentation of their lives. Also, the invention of the wheel during this time allowed for travel to other villages (and eventually other parts of the world) to trade goods, information, and ideas. Essentially, this was the beginning of urban societal life—perfect for chatty, networking Gemini.

The Age of Taurus

approx. 4000 to 2000 B.C.

Taurus notoriously loves its material possessions, so it’s no wonder that the major culture of this era—the Ancient Egyptians—buried their dead in lavish tombs stacked with riches. During this Age, people truly believed you could take it with you. While we’ll never know if the pharaohs ended up being able to flaunt their wealth after death, one thing’s for sure, the pyramids still stand today—a testament to the permanence and epic beauty of Taurus.

The Age of Aries

approx. 2000 B.C. to 1 B.C.

Warrior Aries is known for its aggressive nature, so it’s no surprise that this Age is better known as the Iron Age. It was during this time that people first forged weapons out of iron and steel. Alexander the Great conquered the world by force, and the Greek and Roman Empires rose to greatness. This Age was about asserting dominance and demonstrating power, just as Aries wants to shout to the world “I am here, this is ME!”

The Age of Pisces

approx.  1 A.D. to 2000 A.D.

Existential Pisces feels there must be more to life, and often turns to spirituality to make sense of the world. As such, the Age of Pisces has been characterized by belief. The birth of Christianity and Islam ushered in an age where humans were largely defined by their religious beliefs and allegiances. Piscean themes of sacrifice and martyrdom are common among religious texts formed during this era. From the Inquisition, to the birth of the United States, to the Holocaust—all of these events had one thing is common—persecution in the name of belief. Sound familiar? We’re in it. Very likely at the tail end, with one foot in the Aquarian Age.

The Age of Aquarius

approx.  2000 to 4000 A.D.

Some say it has begun, some say it’s coming. (Remember what I said about those nebulous start dates?) I’m personally inclined to believe that we’re on the cusp of Pisces and Aquarius, still being influenced by both sides. Why? Inspired advancements in technology, civil rights, and global humanitarian partnerships all point to the influence of inventive, all-inclusive Aquarius. Yet certain members of society are still overly concerned with who-believes-what, inflicting war and violence upon those who believe differently. But as the years pass and the Aquarian influence builds, it is my hope that Aquarius—sign of universal brotherhood—will be able to finally, at long last, bring us together.

    July 24, 2016 at 5:13 pm

    Emma I really appreciate your blog articles!